21 February 2011

Six Cardinal-Deacons become Cardinal-Priests

The six remaining Cardinal-Deacons that were created in the consistory of 21 Feb 2001 were today all elevated to Cardinal-Priests with each retaining the same title.

The six are: Cardinals Cacciavillan, Grocholewski, Kasper, Mejía, Sebastiani, and Tucci.

There are now 10 Cardinal-Bishops, 158 Cardinal-Priests, and 33 Cardinal-Deacons for a total of 201 living cardinals. Of those, 117 are eligible to vote in a conclave should one be required. 6 more cardinals will turn 80 and lose their eligibility to vote before the end of this year (including Cardinal Sebastiani who was elevated today).

Blog Archive