28 June 2017

Titles of the New Cardinals

The five new Cardinals created today were given the following titles:

Sunarko named Pangkal-Pinang Bishop

Bishop-elect Adrianus Sunarko, O.F.M. was named Bishop of Pangkal-Pinang, Indonesia.

The diocese had been vacant since the death of Bishop Hilarius Moa Nurak, S.V.D. in April 2016.

de Romanet de Beaune named France Military Bishop

Bishop-elect Antoine de Romanet de Beaune was named Bishop of France, Military.

The post had been vacant since then-Bishop Luc Marie Daniel Ravel, C.R.S.V. was named Archbishop of Strasbourg in February 2017.

Moon Chang-woo named Cheju Coadjutor

Bishop-elect Pius Moon Chang-woo was named Coadjutor Bishop of Cheju, Korea (South).

Koo Yobi named Seoul Auxiliary

Bishop-elect Job Koo Yobi was named Auxiliary Bishop of Seoul, Korea (South) and titular bishop of Sfasferia.

Sabio resigned, Galido named Marshall Islands Prefect

Father Raymundo Sabio, M.S.C. resigned and Father Ariel Galido, M.S.C. was named Prefect of Marshall Islands, Pacific (Oceania).

de Assis Ribeiro named Belém do Pará Auxiliary

Bishop-elect Antônio de Assis Ribeiro, S.D.B. was named Auxiliary Bishop of Belém do Pará, Brazil and titular bishop of Babra.

22 June 2017

Carrascosa Coso named Ecuador Nuncio

Archbishop Andrés Carrascosa Coso was named Apostolic Nuncio to Ecuador.

The post had been vacant since Archbishop Giacomo Guido Ottonello was named Apostolic Nuncio to Slovakia in April 2017.

Archbishop Carrascosa Coso had been serving as Apostolic Nuncio to Panama.

18 June 2017

Székely named Szombathely Bishop

Bishop János Székely was named Bishop of Szombathely, Hungary.

The diocese had been vacant since Bishop András Veres was named Bishop of Győr (Raab) in May 2016.

Bishop Székely had been serving as Auxiliary Bishop of Esztergom-Budapest.

17 June 2017

15 June 2017

Salcedo Aquino named Tlaxcala Bishop

Bishop-elect Julio César Salcedo Aquino, M.J. was named Bishop of Tlaxcala, México.

The diocese had been vacant since then-Bishop Francisco Moreno Barrón was named Archbishop of Tijuana, Baja California Norte in June 2016.

Palmieri retired, Meta named Rrëshen Bishop

Bishop Cristoforo Palmieri, C.M. retired and Bishop-elect Gjergj Meta was named Bishop of Rrëshen, Albania.

Kulli named Sapë Bishop

Bishop-elect Simon Kulli was named Bishop of Sapë, Albania.

The diocese had been vacant since the death of Bishop Lucjan Avgustini in May 2016.

Kabashi retired, Peragine named Southern Albania Apostolic Administrator

Bishop Hil Kabashi, O.F.M. retired and Bishop-elect Giovanni Peragine, B. was named Apostolic Administrator of Southern Albania {Albania Meridionale} (Albanian) and titular bishop of Phoenice.

Huertas Vargas retired, García Peláez named Garagoa Bishop

Bishop José Vicente Huertas Vargas retired and Bishop Julio Hernando García Peláez was named Bishop of Garagoa, Colombia.

Bishop García Peláez had been serving as Bishop of Istmina-Tadó.

14 June 2017

Steinmetz named Londrina Archbishop

Archbishop-designate Geremias Steinmetz was named Archbishop of Londrina, Parana, Brazil.

The archdiocese had been vacant since Archbishop Orlando Brandes was named Archbishop of Aparecida, Sao Paulo in November 2016.

Archbishop-designate Steinmetz had been serving as Bishop of Paranavaí.

Blog Archive